National Park Service · Lassen Volcanic National Park · CA

Summit Lake South

3Heads uppark alerts
Information
EV charging station unavailable The Electric Vehicle charging station is non-functional. There is no timeline for when it may become available. Please plan accordingly.
Information
Juniper Lake Campground Closed The Juniper Lake Campground and day use area is currently closed for maintenance and campground improvement projects. Potable water is not available in the campground. The Juniper Lake Road (access to lake and trailheads) is open. Please…
Information
Visitor Phone Line Intermittent You may experience problems reaching park staff via the main visitor phone line which functions intermittently. You may email the park at lavo_information@nps.gov with general park questions.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 16, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 26 opens June 26.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$22From, per site
Sites
4845 on recreation.gov
59 ftLongest rig
6,690 ftElevation
312 ftWater · Summit Lake
14.7 miNW of Chester, CA
37%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

Summit Lake South Campground (elevation 6,700 ft.) is conveniently located on the main road of Lassen Volcanic National Park. The campground is within walking distance of the small but scenic Summit Lake and eight miles from the 10,457-ft. Lassen Peak, the largest volcano in the park. Hikers will find one of the park's major trails only 1/4-mile away from the campground and many more within a close proximity. Summit Lake South is on the opposite side of the lake from Summit Lake North Campground. Keep reading

Recreation

The campground is a hub for hiking and backpacking trails within the park. Campers can access many of the park's 150 miles of hiking trails from the Summit Lake area. The Cluster Lakes loop trail--a major trailhead into the park's interior that bypasses several alpine lakes and is popular among birders--is located a short walk away at the Summit Lake Ranger Station. This is the closest campground to the Lassen Peak Trail and within 10 miles of the hydrothermal area, Bumpass Hell. Educational programs are presented at an amphitheater within the facility.

Facilities

This facility has vault toilets, drinking water, campfire rings, picnic tables and a more secluded tent-only loop. There are no flush toilets. For more information visit Campgrounds of Lassen Volcanic .

Natural Features

The national park is known for its volcanic history, as well as its diversity of plants and animals. It contains 300 active volcanic domes and many hydrothermal features, such as mud pots and steam vents. Lassen Peak is the southernmost active volcano in the Cascades, and the second-most recent volcano to erupt in the lower 48 of the United States before Mount Saint Helens. Lassen National Park boasts over 700 species of flowering plants and 250 native species including birds, mammals, reptiles and fish. The park is at the junction of the Cascade Mountains, the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the Great Basin, thus providing many unique habitats.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Be bear aware; food and scented products must be stored in the bear lockers provided at each campsite

Rule

Pets are not allowed on park trails and must be on a 6-ft. leash

Rule

There are no electricity, water or sewer hook-ups

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

An entrance fee of $30 per vehicle is required. We highly recommend visitors purchase the park's digital 1-7 day entrance fee or the parks annual pass throught recreation.gov prior to visiting park.

Rule

Campers must have a valid entrance permit/pass before camping

Rule

50 percent discount on camping fees applies only to lifetime pass holders and senior annual pass holders

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Rule

Campsites are limited to 3 tents, 6 people, and 2 vehicles (including RV) per site.

Rule

Please have a printed copy of your reservation with you.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
48 · 32 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
59 ft
Paved pads
41 of 48
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets - seasonal
Drinking water
Yes
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Fishing
Hiking
Historic site
Swimming
Visitor center
Night sky · 117th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 12 days ago, 27 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 4, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 45 of the 48 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 26, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 26, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay7 nightsthe facility record
A night$22plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$52DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 26 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$22
Standard Nonelectric$22
Tent Only Nonelectric$22
These are next season’s rates, Jun 26, 2027 to Sep 7, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$30
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$52

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $22 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

48 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 45 mapped sites
54 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop D D07 28 ftLoop D D08 28 ftLoop E E19 28 ft

All 48 sites

48 of 48 sites located
Standard13Tent only32Type not stated3
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 48 of the 48 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 45 of the 48 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Loop CC01tent only nonelectric20 ft43 ft462 ft144 ft$22
Loop CC02standard nonelectric20 ft43 ft437 ft105 ft$22
Loop CC03tent only nonelectric35 ft60 ft370 ft60 ft$22
Loop CC04tent only nonelectric35 ft60 ft342 ft62 ft$22
Loop CC05standard nonelectric22 ft39 ft340 ft96 ft$22
Loop CC06tent only nonelectric20 ft74 ft291 ft106 ft$22
Loop CC07tent only nonelectric21 ft39 ft308 ft135 ft$22
Loop CC08standard nonelectric20 ft53 ft216 ft187 ft$22
Loop CC09tent only nonelectric35 ft53 ft174 ft183 ft$22
Loop CC10standard nonelectric22 ft45 ft241 ft80 ft$22
Loop CC11standard nonelectric21 ft45 ft250 ft61 ft$22
Loop DD01tent only nonelectric24 ft63 ft586 ft29 ft$22
Loop DD02tent only nonelectric21 ft58 ft631 ft77 ft$22
Loop DD03tent only nonelectric23 ft63 ft538 ft34 ft$22
Loop DD04standard nonelectric26 ft52 ft592 ft80 ft$22
Loop DD05standard nonelectric20 ft52 ft570 ft120 ft$22
Loop DD06standard nonelectric30 ft69 ft548 ft182 ft$22
Loop DD07tent only nonelectric24 ft27 ft428 ft322 ft$22
Loop DD08tent only nonelectric26 ft27 ft403 ft350 ft$22
Loop DD09standard nonelectric22 ft37 ft367 ft361 ft$22
Loop DD10standard nonelectric25 ft59 ft338 ft313 ft$22
Loop DD11standard nonelectric24 ft85 ft437 ft130 ft$22
Loop DD12standard nonelectric23 ft58 ft398 ft62 ft$22
Loop DD13standard nonelectric23 ft83 ft518 ft94 ft$22
Loop DD14tent only nonelectric35 ft83 ft482 ft62 ft$22
Loop EE01type not stated21 ft747 ft187 ft
Loop EE02tent only nonelectric59 ft69 ft698 ft152 ft$22
Loop EE03type not stated24 ft817 ft244 ft
Loop EE04type not stated27 ft783 ft174 ft
Loop EE05tent only nonelectric26 ft75 ft910 ft234 ft$22
Loop EE06tent only nonelectric24 ft65 ft858 ft156 ft$22
Loop EE07tent only nonelectric21 ft46 ft922 ft204 ft$22
Loop EE08tent only nonelectric26 ft67 ft862 ft128 ft$22
Loop EE09tent only nonelectric21 ft46 ft937 ft203 ft$22
Loop EE10tent only nonelectric35 ft54 ft927 ft188 ft$22
Loop EE11tent only nonelectric20 ft33 ft816 ft79 ft$22
Loop EE12tent only nonelectric26 ft77 ft789 ft101 ft$22
Loop EE13tent only nonelectric25 ft33 ft784 ft47 ft$22
Loop EE14tent only nonelectric29 ft51 ft693 ft69 ft$22
Loop EE15tent only nonelectric22 ft77 ft723 ft37 ft$22
Loop EE16tent only nonelectric31 ft96 ft628 ft116 ft$22
Loop EE17tent only nonelectric28 ft42 ft661 ft120 ft$22
Loop EE18tent only nonelectric21 ft33 ft653 ft159 ft$22
Loop EE19tent only nonelectric20 ft28 ft634 ft192 ft$22
Loop EE20tent only nonelectric16 ft28 ft611 ft217 ft$22
Loop EE21tent only nonelectric24 ft56 ft652 ft172 ft$22
Loop EE22tent only nonelectric28 ft79 ft741 ft111 ft$22
Loop EE23tent only nonelectric23 ft56 ft699 ft188 ft$22

25 of 48 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight42°Clear
Friday65°Sunny
Friday Night42°Mostly Clear
Saturday61°Sunny

NWS forecast for Warner Valley, CA

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Wild Cattle Mtn4,965 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Harkness197 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Onion Springs2,421 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Summit Lake South is in California’s 1st congressional district. Whoever holds it votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. See how its representative votes on public lands →

Our roster still carries Doug LaMalfa for this district and the current federal record doesn’t list them as sitting, so we’re not naming a representative here until the two agree.

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: National Park Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 4, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Warner Valley, CA, 5.1 mi NW (a census designated place). Straight line.