National Park Service · Glacier National Park · MT

Sprague Creek Campground

3Heads up1 park alert · 2 fires, nearest 32 mi
Wildfire
Route 8 fire · 32 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Marceau fire · 40 mi away · updated Oct 13, 2026
Park Closure
Going-to-the-Sun Road Partial Closure Going-to-the-Sun Road is now open on the east side from St. Mary to Logan Pass. It remains closed between Avalanche and Logan Pass.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 16, 2026
ReservableOut of season; the next season isn't published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
Sites
3622 on recreation.gov
21 ftLongest rig
3,180 ftElevation
83 ftWater · Sprague Creek
19.8 miNE of Columbia Falls, MT
57%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Sprague Creek is a small campground located on the northeast shore of Lake McDonald, just off Going-to-the-Sun Road. The maximum size limit allowed for all vehicles as well as combinations of vehicles and towed units in Sprague Creek Campground is 21 feet in length (including bumpers) and/or 8 feet in width (including mirrors). The campground is located within trees, providing shade during warm summers. Some sites near the shore have unobstructed views of Lake McDonald. All sites require a reservation. Most sites have a 6-month booking window with a good handful having a 4-day booking window. Keep reading

Recreation

Amenities such as a camp store, resturant, gift shop, tour buses, boat tours, and horse rides can be found at the historic Lake McDonald Lodge, about a mile away from the campground. Evening programs with a ranger are also located at Lake McDonald Lodge. Use Glacier's free shuttle service at this campground to access other shuttle stops on the Going-to-the-Sun Road.

Facilities

The campground is small with 21 reservable campsites in close proximity. The sites are best suited for small-footprint tent campers; although small RVs under 21 feet are allowed. No towed units of any size or generators are allowed. Potable water is accessible in the campground, and restroom facilities have flush toilets and sinks with running water.

Natural Features

Sprague Creek is heavily forested with partial shade. Some sites have views of Lake McDonald. The park is named for its prominent glacier-carved terrain and remnant glaciers descended from the ice ages almost 10,000 years ago. Its diverse habitats are home to nearly 70 species of mammals including the grizzly bear, wolverine, gray wolf and lynx. Over 270 species of birds visit or reside in the park, including such varied species as harlequin ducks, dippers and golden eagles.

Nearby Attractions

One must-see attraction is Waterton Lakes National Park, Glacier's sister park across the Canadian-U.S. border. As the other half of Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park, Canada's Waterton Lakes National Park offers great hiking, scenic boat cruises and several scenic drives all centered around the townsite of Waterton.

What the agency tells you

Rule

RV Maximum Length in the Campground. The maximum size limit allowed for all vehicles as well as combinations of vehicles and towed units in Sprague Creek Campground is 21 feet in length (including bumpers) and/or 8 feet in width (including mirrors).

Rule

Vehicle length limits along Going-to-the-Sun Road. Vehicle and vehicle combinations longer than 21 feet (6.4 m) or wider than 8 feet (2.4 m) including mirrors are prohibited between the Sun Point parking area and Avalanche Campground on Going-to-the-Sun Road.

Rule

No Generators. Generator use is prohibited at all times in this campground.

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

Food Storage and Wildlife. Grizzly and black bears frequent the area; food storage regulations strictly enforced; when not in immediate use, all food, beverages, coolers, cooking utensils, pet food, or other attractants must be kept in a closed, hard-sided vehicle or secured in bear proof storage lockers near campground restrooms.

Rule

Maximum Stay. The maximum length of stay is 14 days.

Rule

Fire Rings Only. Camp sites contain fire rings but do not have fire grates for grilling/ food preparation.

Rule

Hammocks. Hammocks must be hung over non vegetated areas using one inch straps or wider. Vegetation may not be trampled to access hammocks.

Rule

Maximum Number of Tents. Campsites allow a maximum of 2 tents per site.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood within the same county in which you plan to camp. Moving firewood is illegal in some states.

Rule

Renting an RV or trailer? Per 36 CFR 5.3, commercial business may not take place inside Glacier National Park. This includes RVs and trailers being delivered within Glacier's boundaries. Renters of these must drive them in themselves.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
36
Hookups
None
Longest rig
21 ft
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - seasonal
Drinking water
Yes
Store
Nearby
Dump station
No
The agency record says no. recreation.gov’s amenity list says “Dump Station”. The record stands.
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek
Fishing
Hiking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 247th darkest of 501 in MT
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 12 days ago, 26 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (26 km) · Oct 4, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 22 of the 36 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. The last reservable season the agency published ended October 1, 2026, and it hasn't published the next one.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 9

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
The National Park Service publishes no per-night rate for this campground that we can read, so there’s no sign price to print. That’s a gap in the record, not a free campground.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
The agency publishes no nightly rate for this campground, so there’s nothing to add the $8 booking fee to. We won’t total a receipt with a number missing from it.
If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 4

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · record Aug 23, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

36 sites · the site map

All 36 sites

2 of 36 sites located
Type not stated2
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes a

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AdministrationAdmin Site 1type not statedyes
AdministrationAdmin Site 2type not statedyes
Cutbank CGCutbank CG Scan and Paytype not statedyes
Sprague Creek01standard nonelectric21 ftyes
Sprague Creek02standard nonelectric17 ft
Sprague Creek03type not stated21 ft175 ft
Sprague Creek04standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek05standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek06standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek07standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek08standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek09standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek10standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek11standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek12standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek13standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek14standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek15standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek16standard nonelectric16 ft
Sprague Creek17standard nonelectric18 ft
Sprague Creek18standard nonelectric12 ft
Sprague Creek19standard nonelectric20 ft
Sprague Creek20standard nonelectric15 ft
Sprague Creek21standard nonelectric15 ft
Sprague Creek22standard nonelectric15 ft
Sprague Creek23standard nonelectric21 ft
Sprague Creek24type not stated19 ft
Sprague Creek25type not stated21 ft167 ft
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 25 SHAREDtype not stated
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 25btype not stated
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 25ctype not stated
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 25dtype not stated
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 3 SHAREDtype not stated
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 3btype not stated
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 3ctype not stated
Sprague CreekHiker/Biker 3dtype not stated

25 of 36 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate48.60615, -113.88471
The phone406-888-7800
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Sprague Creek Campground has multiple entry points on the east and west side of the park.  

West Side 

- West Entrance – From Columbia Falls, take Highway 2 east to the town of West Glacier (approximately 33 miles/53 km from Kalispell).  

- West Entrance – From Browning, take Highway 2 west to the town of West Glacier.   

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon60°Mostly Sunny
Tonight42°Partly Cloudy
Saturday62°Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night39°Partly Cloudy5% rain

NWS forecast for West Glacier, MT

Typical weather

Typical October night 33°F, day 52°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 19°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: W GLACIER, MT (USC00248809), 9 miles away and 32 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Ryan Zinke, official portrait

Sprague Creek Campground is in Montana’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Ryan Zinke (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: National Park Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (26 km) · Oct 4, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: West Glacier, MT, 7.9 mi NNE (a census designated place). Straight line.