U.S. Forest Service · Giant Sequoia National Monument · CA

Stony Creek Sequoia

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 8 mi
Wildfire
Land fire · 7.6 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 11, 2026
Wildfire
Wildfire Training fire · 33 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 28 opens May 28.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$36–$71Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4844 on recreation.gov
30 ftLongest rig
6,450 ftElevation
396 ftWater · Stony Creek
11.9 miN of Three Rivers, CA
50%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Stony Creek Campground sits at an elevation of approximatly 6,500 feet in the Sierra Nevada mountains. It's nestled among Sigar Pines, Jeffrey Pines, Red Firs and the scenic Stony Creek is just steps away. This campground is ideally located along the Generals Highway, in between Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, near the Jennie Lakes Wilderness, and tucked within the heart of Hume Lake Ranger Districts Sequoia National Forest. Keep reading

Recreation

Hume Lake is a popular recreation destination where visitors can enjoy trout fishing, non-motorized boating, hiking, mountain biking and off-road vehicle riding. Visitors can hike the Jennie Lake Trail. The trailhead to the 4-mile trail is across the street in the Upper Stony Creek campground. Several creeks also run near the campground, offering additional fishing and wading opportunities.

Facilities

Stony Creek offers nearly 50 reservable campsites, spread out along the creek. Vault toilets, drinking water and an amphitheater are available at the campground. This facility is operated by Rocky Mountain Recreation Company, a division of ExplorUS and comments are welcome; comment forms are available from campground hosts or online.

Natural Features

The Sequoia National Forest, located at the southern end of the Sierra Nevada in central California, takes its name from the giant sequoia, the world's largest tree, which grows in more than 30 groves on the Forest's lower slopes. The Forest comprises about 1.1 million acres, and elevations range from about 1,000 to 12,000 feet, creating precipitous canyons and mountain streams with spectacular waterfalls such as Salmon Creek Falls and Grizzly Falls. Built to support a large commercial logging operation, Hume Lake supplied water to the longest lumber flume transporting logs to the Central Valley. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420.

Nearby Attractions

Day trips to Kings Canyon National Park, Sequoia National Park, Giant Sequoia National Monument, Boyden Caverns and General Grant Grove are popular among visitors. Bearskin Grove offers the rare opportunity to photograph an entire mature sequoia in one frame. Hiking through the grove visitors will find a mix of young and old sequoias, many measuring more than 6 feet in diameter.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Caution: Black bears frequent the area; special food storage regulations are in effect and must be followed

Rule

No off-road vehicle use in the campground

Rule

Click here to learn more about Sequoia National Forest

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Camping fee does not include Park Entrance Fee

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Overnight camping fee includes 1 car or RV/Trailer with tow vehicle. There is an additional fee $8.00 for each vehicle per night of stay. If you have an extra vehicle, it must fit on the site parking spur.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
48 · 17 tent-only, 1 walk-in
Hookups
None
Longest rig
30 ft
Paved pads
32 of 48
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…campsites, spread out along the creek. Vault toilets, drinking water and an amphitheater are available…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…out along the creek. Vault toilets, drinking water and an amphitheater are available at the…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, Creek
Backpacking
Birding
Fishing
Hiking
Stargazing
Wilderness access
Night sky · 685th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 44 of the 48 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 28, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 28, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$36–$71plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$80–$150DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 28 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$36–$71
Standard Nonelectric$36
Tent Only Nonelectric$36
Tent Only Nonelectric-Double$71
Group area, a night$36
These are next season’s rates, May 28, 2027 to Sep 25, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$44–$79
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$80–$150

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $36–$71 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

48 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 44 mapped sites
90 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomAREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA 030 54 ftAREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA 031 54 ftAREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA 046 58 ft

All 48 sites

48 of 48 sites located
Standard26Tent only17Walk, hike or boat in1Type not stated4
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 48 of the 48 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 44 of the 48 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA001type not stated399 ft106 ft
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA002type not stated300 ft82 ft
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA003tent only nonelectric10 ft103 ft213 ft150 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA004standard nonelectric20 ft91 ft305 ft48 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA005standard nonelectric20 ft91 ft249 ft126 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA006standard nonelectric25 ft88 ft147 ft218 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA007standard nonelectric20 ft92 ft193 ft218 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA008tent only nonelectric10 ft75 ft100 ft288 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA009tent only nonelectric10 ft75 ft126 ft313 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA010tent only nonelectric10 ft94 ft15 ft491 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA011type not stated20 ft50 ft462 ft
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA012walk to10 ft94 ftunder 10 ft571 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA013standard nonelectric25 ft97 ft97 ft590 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA014tent only nonelectric10 ft68 ft129 ft663 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA015tent only nonelectric10 ft83 ft89 ft741 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA016standard nonelectric30 ft95 ft136 ft762 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA017standard nonelectric20 ft98 ft89 ft896 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA018standard nonelectric20 ft98 ftunder 10 ft983 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA019standard nonelectric20 ft106 ft42 ft1,077 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA020tent only nonelectric10 ft106 ft53 ft1,165 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA021tent only nonelectric20 ft115 ft35 ft1,216 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA023standard nonelectric30 ft124 ft10 ft1,131 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA024tent only nonelectric10 ft103 ft62 ft1,016 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA025standard nonelectric20 ft77 ft41 ft923 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA026tent only nonelectric10 ft77 ft30 ft923 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA027tent only nonelectric10 ft93 ft22 ft837 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA028tent only nonelectric10 ft119 ft60 ft723 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA029type not stated10 ft29 ft704 ft
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA030standard nonelectric30 ft54 ft72 ft640 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA031tent only nonelectric10 ft54 ft99 ft586 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA032tent only nonelectric10 ft67 ft61 ft557 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA033tent only nonelectric10 ft67 ft98 ft494 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA034standard nonelectric30 ft82 ft65 ft464 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA035standard nonelectric25 ft62 ft179 ft346 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA036standard nonelectric30 ft62 ft133 ft342 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA037standard nonelectric30 ft72 ft182 ft269 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA038standard nonelectric30 ft66 ft212 ft194 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA039standard nonelectric20 ft66 ft261 ft209 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA040standard nonelectric20 ft77 ft279 ft132 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA041standard nonelectric30 ft96 ft166 ft157 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA042standard nonelectric30 ft132 ft120 ft161 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA043tent only nonelectric10 ft89 ft108 ft193 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA044standard nonelectric30 ft89 ft114 ft227 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA045tent only nonelectric10 ft92 ft195 ft129 ft$36–$71
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA046standard nonelectric30 ft58 ft289 ft112 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA047standard nonelectric30 ft58 ft279 ft170 ft$36
AREA STONEY CREEK / SEQUOIA048standard nonelectric20 ft115 ft403 ft148 ft$36
049standard nonelectric131 ft496 ft199 ft$36

25 of 48 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight38°Clear
Saturday67°Sunny
Saturday Night36°Clear
Sunday65°Sunny

NWS forecast for Hartland, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 17°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LODGEPOLE, CA (USC00045026), 7 miles away and 285 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

Watch
Roadless
Jennie Lake2,388 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Agnew9,561 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 9, 2026

Who answers for this land

Vince Fong, official portrait

Stony Creek Sequoia is in California’s 20th congressional district. Its representative, Vince Fong (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Hartland, CA, 6.8 mi E (a census designated place). Straight line.