U.S. Forest Service · Giant Sequoia National Monument · CA

Upper Stony Creek Campground

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 8 mi
Wildfire
Land fire · 7.6 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 11, 2026
Wildfire
Wildfire Training fire · 33 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 28 opens May 28.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$36From, per site
Sites
2417 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
6,450 ftElevation
315 ftWater · Stony Creek
11.9 miN of Three Rivers, CA
50%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Upper Stony Creek Campground sits in the mid-elevation of the Sierra Nevada mountains at an elevation of about 6,500 feet. Situated along the scenic Stony Creek, below Shell Mountain, and near the Stony Creek Trailhead, this is an ideal location for outdoor enthusiasts. This campground is also near the Jennie Lakes Wilderness region, and in between Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, on the Generals Highway. Keep reading

Recreation

Hume Lake is a popular recreation destination where visitors can enjoy fishing, non-motorized boating, hiking, mountain biking and off-road vehicle riding. Visitors can also hike around and fish in the creeks by the campgrounds.

Facilities

Upper Stony Creek offers 17 reservable campsites spread out along the creek. Vault toilets, picnic areas and drinking water are provided. This facility is operated by Rocky Mountain Recreation Company, a division of ExplorUS and comments are welcome; comment forms are available from campground hosts or online.

Natural Features

The Sequoia National Forest, located at the southern end of the Sierra Nevada in central California, takes its name from the giant sequoia, the world's largest tree, which grows in more than 30 groves on the Forest's lower slopes. The Forest comprises about 1.1 million acres, and elevations range from about 1,000 to 12,000 feet, creating precipitous canyons and mountain streams with spectacular waterfalls such as Salmon Creek Falls and Grizzly Falls.

Nearby Attractions

Day trips to Kings Canyon National Park, Sequoia National Park, Giant Sequoia National Monument, Boyden Caverns and General Grant Grove are popular activities. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This is black bear country; Special food storage regulations are in effect and must be followed

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Only non-motorized boats are allowed on Hume Lake

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Off-road vehicles are not permitted in the campground

Rule

Click here to learn more about Sequoia National Forest

Rule

Camping fee does not include Park Entrance Fee

Rule

Overnight camping fee includes 1 car or RV/Trailer with tow vehicle. There is an additional fee $8.00 for each vehicle per night of stay. If you have an extra vehicle, it must fit on the site parking spur.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
24
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed at 1 of 24 sites
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…campsites spread out along the creek. Vault toilets, picnic areas and drinking water are provided. This…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…creek. Vault toilets, picnic areas and drinking water are provided. This facility is operated by Rocky…”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, Creek
Backpacking
Birding
Fishing
Hiking
Mountain biking
Stargazing
Wilderness access
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 684th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 17 of the 24 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 28, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 28, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$36plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$80DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 28 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$36
Standard Nonelectric$36
Tent Only Nonelectric$36
These are next season’s rates, May 28, 2027 to Sep 25, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$44
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$80

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $36 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

24 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 17 mapped sites
27 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room009 14 ft010 14 ft003 16 ft

All 24 sites

24 of 24 sites located
Standard17Type not stated7
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 17 of the 24 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND001type not stated40 ft1,334 ft
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND002standard nonelectric40 ft34 ft1,341 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND003standard nonelectric40 ft16 ft1,346 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND004standard nonelectric40 ft16 ft1,346 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND005standard nonelectric40 ft28 ft1,319 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND006standard nonelectric40 ft28 ft1,311 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND007standard nonelectric40 ft34 ft1,308 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND008standard nonelectric40 ft41 ft1,337 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND009standard nonelectric35 ft14 ft1,389 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND010standard nonelectric30 ft14 ft1,403 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND011standard nonelectric30 ft18 ft1,416 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND012standard nonelectric40 ft38 ft1,432 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND013type not stated40 ft1,436 ft
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND014standard nonelectric40 ft27 ft1,438 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND015standard nonelectric30 ft25 ft1,440 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND016standard nonelectric40 ft25 ft1,441 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND017standard nonelectric35 ft27 ft1,439 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND018standard nonelectric40 ft38 ft1,432 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND019type not stated40 ft1,398 ft
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND020standard nonelectric30 ft45 ft1,367 ft$36
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUND021type not stated30 ft1,333 ft
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUNDAtype not stated1,374 ft
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUNDBtype not stated1,376 ft
UPPER STONY CREEK CAMPGROUNDCtype not stated1,358 ft

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today70°Sunny
Tonight39°Clear
Saturday68°Sunny
Saturday Night37°Clear

NWS forecast for Hartland, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 17°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LODGEPOLE, CA (USC00045026), 7 miles away and 285 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

Watch
Roadless
Jennie Lake2,388 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Agnew9,561 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 9, 2026

Who answers for this land

Vince Fong, official portrait

Upper Stony Creek Campground is in California’s 20th congressional district. Its representative, Vince Fong (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Hartland, CA, 6.8 mi E (a census designated place). Straight line.