U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · WV

Bakers Run Campground

ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 1 opens May 1.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$28–$46Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
7775 on recreation.gov
50 ftLongest rig
980 ftElevation
212 ftWater · Sutton Lake
12.3 miNW of Addison (Webster Springs), WV
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices

In the agency’s own words

Bakers Run Campground is one of the best kept secrets in West Virginia. The campground rests among shady forests and flowing tributaries of the Elk River, which has the highest species diversity and richness of any river in the entire state. This makes the fishing excellent for bass, crappie, catfish, bluegill, and walleye. Bakers Run is surrounded by the Elk River Wildlife Management Area, campers will hear turkeys gobble and see whitetail deer along with other wildlife as a part of their experience. Choose from 77 sites. There are eight full hook-up campsites, 26 electric campsites, and 44 primitive campsites. Keep reading

Recreation

Sutton Lake has three other developed recreational areas, including the Sutton Dam and Downstream that includes tail water fishing access, picnic shelters, a playground, trail access, and a pollinator garden. Gerald R. Freeman Campground, located about three miles North on the Holly River has 158 sites, many of which may be reserved on recreation.gov. The Bee Run Recreation Area offers a primitive campground, boat launch, marina, swimming beach, picnic shelters, and a playground.

Facilities

Along with the lake, recreation opportunities include a playground with swings, horseshoe pits, bean bag toss, volleyball area, and basketball court. There is a shower house and restroom inside the campground Natural Features Along with the lake, recreation opportunities include a playground with swings, horseshoe pits, bean bag toss, volleyball area, and basketball court. There is a shower house and restroom inside the campground. Fishermen are likely to be found casting lines from lawn chairs strewn off of the Tunnel Road fishing access. Bakers Run is surrounded by a wildlife management area, making it likely for campers to hear turkeys gobble and see whitetail deer along with other wildlife as a part of their experience.

Nearby Attractions

Bakers Run Campground is nestled deep in the West Virginia mountains, and within driving range to the Monongahela National Forest. The Elk River is a majestic river, flowing past Bakers Run Campground where kayaking, fishingand other water ativities. The historical town of Sutton has plenty of history on the Cobblestone streets, where the "Weston and Gualey Bridge Turnpike" passes through the town of Sutton. The Weston and Gualey Bridge Turnpike was a major highway back during the American Civil War timeframe that connected Weston, WV to Gualey Bridge, WV. Flatwood Outlet Mall is a nearby attraction in the area, where you can find groceries, supplies and take out and dine-in food.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Bakers Run Campground is one of the best kept secrets in West Virginia. It rests among shady forests and flowing tributaries of the Elk River, which has the highest species diversity and richness of any river in the entire state. This makes the fishing excellent for bass, crappie, catfish, bluegill, and walleye.

Rule

• No person(s) may camp at one or more campsites for more than 14 days in a 30 day consecutive period at “Sutton Lake”. This includes the reservation holder (primary occupant) and all other overnight occupants.

Rule

• Any person utilizing a Federal Pass for a discount on camping fees must present the discount pass upon request, be registered on the campsite, and occupy the site overnight for the entire duration of the reservation to receive the full discount.

Everything else this campground posts · 5
Rule

• You may only be registered as the primary occupant at one campsite upon check-in.

Rule

• All trash and debris must be completely removed from the campsite upon departure.

Rule

• All motorized recreational vehicles, including motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles (ATV), utility terrain vehicles (UTV), mopeds, scooters, golf carts, hoverboards, etc., that are not licensed for use on all roadways are prohibited in the campgrounds.

Rule

• Please contact the campground or lake office for questions on power driven mobility aids.

Rule

• The primary occupant is responsible for the adherence to camping rules and regulations by all other occupants, guests, and visitors on the campsite.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
77
Hookups
32 electric, 8 water
Longest rig
50 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“There is a shower house and restroom inside the campground”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Beach
Night sky · 39th darkest of 69 in WV
Bortle 3
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$28–$46plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$64–$100DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$28–$46
Primitive site$28
Standard electric campsites$34
Full Hookup campsites$46
These are next season’s rates, May 1, 2027 to Sep 30, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
Credit/Debit Card Only
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$36–$54
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$64–$100

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $28–$46 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

77 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 75 mapped sites
47 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
54%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop BRCG 8 32 ftLoop BRCG 9 32 ftLoop BRCG 3 34 ft

All 77 sites

77 of 77 sites located
Standard43RV / electric32Type not stated2
SleepsUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 75 of the 77 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

BRCG1standard nonelectric40 ft63 ft106 ft$28
BRCG10standard nonelectric50 ft37 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG11standard nonelectric50 ft37 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG12standard nonelectric50 ft43 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG13standard nonelectric50 ft50 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG14standard nonelectric50 ft37 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG15standard nonelectric50 ft37 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG16standard nonelectric50 ft38 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG17standard nonelectric50 ft38 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG18standard nonelectric50 ft47 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG19standard nonelectric45 ft68 ft22 ft$28
BRCG2standard nonelectric45 ft48 ft41 ft$28
BRCG20standard nonelectric45 ft34 ft37 ft$28
BRCG21standard nonelectric45 ft34 ft43 ft$28
BRCG22standard nonelectric45 ft42 ft63 ft$28
BRCG23standard nonelectric45 ft52 ft58 ft$28
BRCG24standard nonelectric45 ft37 ft52 ft$28
BRCG25standard electric45 ft30 amp37 ft40 ft$34–$46
BRCG26standard electric45 ft30 amp45 ft53 ft$34–$46
BRCG27standard electric40 ft50 amp45 ft57 ft$34–$46
BRCG28standard electric45 ft50 amp49 ft63 ft$34–$46
BRCG29standard electric50 ft50 amp49 ft56 ft$34–$46
BRCG3standard nonelectric45 ft34 ft14 ft$28
BRCG30standard electric50 ft50 amp51 ft42 ft$34–$46
BRCG31standard electric40 ft30 amp40 ft71 ft$34–$46
BRCG32standard electric40 ft30 amp38 ft93 ft$34–$46
BRCG33standard electric40 ft30 amp41 ft115 ft$34–$46
BRCG34standard electric40 ft30 amp46 ft127 ft$34–$46
BRCG35standard electric40 ft30 amp46 ft122 ft$34–$46
BRCG36standard electric45 ft30 amp48 ft118 ft$34–$46
BRCG37standard electric45 ft30 amp48 ft120 ft$34–$46
BRCG38standard electric45 ft30 amp44 ft131 ft$34–$46
BRCG39standard electric45 ft30 amp44 ft145 ft$34–$46
BRCG4standard nonelectric50 ft34 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG40standard electric40 ft30 amp47 ft128 ft$34–$46
BRCG41standard electric45 ft30 amp50 ft92 ft$34–$46
BRCG42standard electric50 ft30 amp50 ft88 ft$34–$46
BRCG43standard electric40 ft30 amp40 ft103 ft$34–$46
BRCG44standard electric45 ft30 amp38 ft125 ft$34–$46
BRCG45standard electric45 ft30 amp41 ft153 ft$34–$46
BRCG46standard electric40 ft30 amp54 ft194 ft$34–$46
BRCG47standard electric45 ft30 amp51 ft145 ft$34–$46
BRCG48standard electric50 ft30 amp44 ft138 ft$34–$46
BRCG49standard electric50 ft30 amp44 ft171 ft$34–$46
BRCG5standard nonelectric45 ft50 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG50standard electric40 ft30 amp42 ft202 ft$34–$46
BRCG51standard electric40 ft30 amp42 ft232 ft$34–$46
BRCG52standard electric45 ft30 amp55 ft267 ft$34–$46
BRCG53standard electric40 ft30 amp55 ft223 ft$34–$46
BRCG54type not stated40 ft30 amp183 ft
BRCG55type not stated50 ft30 amp157 ft
BRCG56standard electric45 ft30 amp45 ft89 ft$34–$46
BRCG57standard electric50 ft30 amp45 ft116 ft$34–$46
BRCG58standard electric50 ft56 ft123 ft$34–$46
BRCG59standard nonelectric50 ft90 ft33 ft$28
BRCG6standard nonelectric40 ft57 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG60standard nonelectric50 ft69 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG61standard nonelectric50 ft49 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG62standard nonelectric45 ft49 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG63standard nonelectric45 ft50 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG64standard nonelectric45 ft47 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG65standard nonelectric45 ft50 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG66standard nonelectric45 ft47 ft29 ft$28
BRCG67standard nonelectric45 ft52 ft58 ft$28
BRCG68standard nonelectric45 ft53 ft96 ft$28
BRCG69standard nonelectric45 ft63 ft106 ft$28
BRCG7standard nonelectric40 ft61 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG70standard nonelectric45 ft45 ft156 ft$28
BRCG71standard nonelectric45 ft45 ft195 ft$28
BRCG72standard nonelectric45 ft52 ft55 ft$28
BRCG73standard nonelectric45 ft52 ft45 ft$28
BRCG74standard nonelectric45 ft47 ft25 ft$28
BRCG75standard nonelectric45 ft47 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG76standard nonelectric45 ft48 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG77standard nonelectric45 ft48 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG8standard nonelectric40 ft32 ftunder 10 ft$28
BRCG9standard nonelectric50 ft32 ftunder 10 ft$28

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 77 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.61478, -80.56713
The phone304-765-5631
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From I-79 (Charleston/Clarksburg)

1. Exit 61 (Gassaway) and exit 67 (Flatwoods), Turn on WV Route 4 towards Sutton, 

2. Turn unto Main Street travel 0.5 miles

3. Turn Right on 2nd Street and cross the green bridge, stay to the right onto South Stonewall Street/OLD TURNPIKE Road travel 4 miles

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight42°Rain Showers91% rain
Saturday52°Chance Rain Showers then Partly Sunny42% rain
Saturday Night32°Widespread Frost
Sunday61°Widespread Frost then Sunny

NWS forecast for Sutton, WV

Typical weather

Typical October night 39°F, day 67°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 20°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WEBSTER SPRINGS 8 N, WV (USC00469336), 10 miles away and 870 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Carol Miller, official portrait

Bakers Run Campground is in West Virginia’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Carol Miller (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Sutton, WV, 7.9 mi ESE. Straight line.