1Heads up1 fire 5.3 mi away
Wildfire
Summit fire · 5.3 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 19 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 14:47 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Closed for the seasonOut of the season the agency publishes
A night
$28From, per site
Sites
5548 on recreation.gov
Season
May 1 – September 30Open May 1 through September 30
78 ftLongest rig
4,680 ftElevation
223 ftWater · Big Lake
15.2 miNW of Sisters, OR
48%Tree cover
Open May 1 through September 30Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 14 notices

In the agency’s own words

This campground provides 49 single campsites. There are both reservable and FCFS sites. The original campsites within Big Lake are in two loops, (sites #1-14 and #15-20) which have eight or so sites with frontage on the lake shore. In 1992 additional campsites were opened (sites #21-49) on a long straight stretch from the boat launch towards Big Lake West. These sites have larger and wider parking spurs, and most sites use stairs to access the table, fire rings and tent pad below the parking spur. Sites can accommodate trailers up to 35 feet in length, depending on site. Keep reading

Drinking water is provided by a water system, built in 1993, which serves the entire Big Lake complex by filtering water drawn from the lake and distributing it to the campgrounds. There are three single vault toilets, and two double vault toilets in the campground. The extra vehicle parking area consists of a boat launch, picnic area, and parking for approximately 15 vehicles and boat trailers. All of these day use facilities are located in the middle of the campground, between the original loops and the "expansion" campsites. *Day Use Fee for day users/boat launch. Extra Vehicle Fee for campers with more than 1 vehicle. Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly. If paying for FCFS sites with a Credit Card, a Remote Offline Kiosk (ROK) is offered at this campground. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with ROK payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. This system does not show site availability and you must check that the site is available prior to making payment. Reservations may be made up to 6 months in advance of arrival date by reserving online at RECREATION.GOV or by calling 877-444-6777.

Recreation

Water skiing, sailing and swimming are among the favorite activities at the lake. The Patjens Lakes Trail offers excellent hiking opportunities. The trail follows the western side of Big Lake, heads south into the Mt. Washington Wilderness, passes alongside the scenic Patjens Lakes, and then loops back to the campground.

Facilities

Big Lake Campground offers 49 spacious campsites for tent or RV camping. Drinking water, vault toilets and a boat ramp are provided.

Natural Features

Nearby Attractions The major activities in the Big Lake area revolve around motorized use. Boats frequent the lake and off highway vehicles (OHVs) us the adjacent Santiam Pass Motorized Recreation Area. Other attractions include Mt. Washington Wilderness and associated access trails, historic Santiam Wagon Road, McKenzie Pass-Santiam Pass National Scenic Byway, Pacific Crest Trail, and Sand Mountain Lookout. Water skiing, sailing and swimming are among the favorite activities at the lake. The Patjens Lakes Trail offers excellent hiking opportunities. The trail follows the western side of Big Lake, heads south into the Mt. Washington Wilderness, passes alongside the scenic Patjens Lakes, and then loops back to the campground. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (541) 967-3917.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from area after eating

Rule

There are no electric site hook-ups at this facility

Rule

First-come, first-served sites may be available

Everything else this campground posts · 11
Rule

A fee, of $10 per extra vehicle per night, will be charged for all additional vehicles at your campsite.

Rule

A day use fee, of $10, will be collected on site.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

No discharging firearms, possession of fireworks or use of chainsaws allowed

Rule

Be sure to reserve a site that will accommodate your equipment. The site you reserve is your site. You may not move to another site.

Rule

Be prepared for Mosquitoes; they tend to be most abundant in June.

Rule

If paying for FCFS sites with a Credit Card, a Remote Offline Kiosk (ROK) is offered at this campground. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with ROK payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. This system does not show site availability and you must check that the site is available prior to making payment.

Rule

Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly.

Rule

Check-In 2:00PM

Rule

Check-Out 12:00PM

Rule

Firewood and Ice available for purchase, at this facility, while supplies last.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
55 · 2 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
78 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 5 of 56 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 6 of 56 campsite records
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: counted from this campground’s own campsite records, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Biking
Boating
Hiking
Non-Motorized Boating
OHV riding
Swimming
Water Skiing
Night sky · 443rd darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 14:47 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 19 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 32 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 14:47 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On December 5, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 5, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$28plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$64DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 5 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$28
Standard Nonelectric$28
Tent Only Nonelectric$28
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 22, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“A fee, of $10 per extra vehicle per night, will be charged for all additional vehicles at your campsite.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$36
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$64

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $28 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 14:47 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

56 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 43 mapped sites
73 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomB LOOP 016 51 ftB LOOP 017 51 ftB LOOP 018 52 ft

All 56 records

44 of 56 records located
Standard41Tent only2Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 44 of the 56 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 55 of the 56 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A LOOP001standard nonelectric20 ft65 ft103 ft2,507 ft$28
A LOOP002standard nonelectric32 ft78 ft157 ft2,596 ft$28
A LOOP003standard nonelectric33 ft72 ft164 ft2,676 ft$28
A LOOP004standard nonelectric25 ft72 ft219 ft2,665 ft$28
A LOOP005standard nonelectric28 ft61 ft243 ft2,746 ft$28
A LOOP006standard nonelectric26 ft61 ft296 ft2,761 ft$28
A LOOP007standard nonelectric60 ft67 ft287 ft2,826 ft$28
A LOOP008standard nonelectric15 ft87 ft220 ft2,882 ft$28
A LOOP009standard nonelectric18 ft59 ft134 ft2,876 ft$28
A LOOP010standard nonelectric21 ft59 ft83 ft2,849 ft$28
A LOOP011standard nonelectric49 ft80 ft84 ft2,769 ft$28
A LOOP012standard nonelectric41 ft80 ft93 ft2,692 ft$28
A LOOP013standard nonelectric49 ft97 ft68 ft2,593 ft$28
A LOOP014standard nonelectric36 ft65 ft39 ft2,447 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE022standard nonelectric35 ft253 ft134 ft1,313 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE023type not stated$28
AREA BIG LAKE023standard nonelectric18 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE024standard nonelectric20 ft80 ft115 ft1,073 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE025standard nonelectric20 ft80 ft121 ft994 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE026standard nonelectric20 ft109 ft136 ft886 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE027standard nonelectric35 ft63 ft164 ft759 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE028standard nonelectric45 ft63 ft195 ft698 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE029standard nonelectric45 ft83 ft180 ft560 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE030standard nonelectric37 ft83 ft156 ft483 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE031type not stated186 ft404 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE032standard nonelectric25 ft306 ft124 ft270 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE033type not stated$28
AREA BIG LAKE033standard nonelectric23 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE034type not stated$28
AREA BIG LAKE034standard nonelectric18 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE035type not stated$28
AREA BIG LAKE035standard nonelectric25 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE036standard nonelectric20 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE036type not stated$28
AREA BIG LAKE037tent only nonelectric20 ft97 ft106 ft171 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE038standard nonelectric45 ft73 ft98 ft261 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE039standard nonelectric32 ft73 ft124 ft328 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE040standard nonelectric22 ft103 ft189 ft429 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE041standard nonelectric50 ft103 ft120 ft515 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE042standard nonelectric45 ft86 ft91 ft585 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE043standard nonelectric25 ft86 ft82 ft651 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE044tent only nonelectric23 ft95 ft83 ft726 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE045standard nonelectric25 ft132 ft87 ft849 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE046standard nonelectric25 ft72 ft139 ft984 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE047standard nonelectric28 ft72 ft152 ft1,055 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE048standard nonelectric45 ft76 ft126 ft1,131 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKE049standard nonelectric30 ft78 ft117 ft1,195 ft$28
AREA BIG LAKEXXXunnamed record20 ft$28
B LOOP015standard nonelectric22 ft58 ft82 ft2,159 ft$28
B LOOP016standard nonelectric18 ft51 ft132 ft2,100 ft$28
B LOOP017standard nonelectric37 ft51 ft82 ft2,133 ft$28
B LOOP018standard nonelectric30 ft52 ft120 ft2,075 ft$28
B LOOP019standard nonelectric20 ft52 ft74 ft2,104 ft$28
B LOOP020standard nonelectric25 ft61 ft49 ft1,992 ft$28
B LOOP021standard nonelectric78 ft61 ft98 ft1,995 ft$28
S&PStandard S&Ptype not stated30 ft$28

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 56 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.37750, -121.87083
The phone801-226-3564
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Eugene, Oregon, take I-105 east to McKenzie Highway 126. Travel east on 126 for 90 miles to Santiam Pass. At the top of the Pass, turn right onto the access road (sign says Hoodoo Ski Area, Big Lake Road, & Benson Sno-Park). Travel one mile to the fork in the road and stay left on Forest Service Road 2690. Continue for 2 miles to the entrance to Big Lake Campground on the left.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today52°Partly Sunny8% rain
Tonight32°Patchy Fog1% rain
Sunday56°Areas Of Frost then Mostly Sunny
Sunday Night32°Mostly Cloudy then Patchy Frost

NWS forecast for Black Butte Ranch, OR

Typical weather

Typical May night 36°F, day 63°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical May night 36°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WICKIUP DAM, OR (USC00359316), 49 miles away and 322 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mt. Washington, North997 acres · 1 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Washington, West6,641 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Jefferson, South5,366 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Janelle Bynum, official portrait

Big Lake is in Oregon’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Janelle Bynum (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Janelle S. Bynum

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Big Lake, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Janelle S. Bynum,

I’m a constituent in Oregon’s 5th district. I tried to camp at Big Lake, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 48 of the 55 campsites the agency files at Big Lake, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 19 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Big Lake keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Big Lake. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Big Lake (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Jeff Merkley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Big Lake, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Jeff Merkley,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Big Lake, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 48 of the 55 campsites the agency files at Big Lake, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 19 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Big Lake keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Big Lake. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Big Lake (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Ron Wyden

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Big Lake, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Ron Wyden,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Big Lake, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 48 of the 55 campsites the agency files at Big Lake, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 19 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Big Lake keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Big Lake. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Big Lake (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it out of season. The season it publishes is the bar below.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Black Butte Ranch, OR, 9 mi W (a census designated place). Straight line.