National Park Service · Hot Springs National Park · AR

Gulpha Gorge Campground

3Heads up1 park alert · 2 fires, nearest 49 mi
Wildfire
Grant 257 fire · 49 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Nevada 311 fire · 49 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Information
Burn Ban in Park Due to high fire danger, Hot Springs National Park has enacted a BURN BAN, August 15, 2026. Only gas and charcoal grills are currently allowed for use in the campground and picnic areas.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 40 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:43 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:43 UTC
A night
$34From, per site
Sites
4440 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
520 ftElevation
149 ftWater · Gulpha Creek
0 miNE of Hot Springs, AR
64%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Gulpha Gorge campground is a tree lined retreat nestled on Gulpha Creek just a few minutes from downtown Hot Springs National Park and historic Bathhouse Row. Open all year, the campground features 44 campsites all suitable for RVs and tents. This popular spot is the ideal base camp for all of your Hot Springs adventures and tends to fill up quickly, even in the fall and winter. Reservations are recommended. Keep reading

Recreation

Hot Springs National Park boasts 26 miles (42 km) of stunning trails. Gulpha Gorge Campground has a trail access to Hot Springs Mountain and Bathhouse Row. The campground sits adjacent to Gulpha Gorge Creek. The creek is perfect for wading, sitting and playing.

Facilities

Each of the 44 sites has both 30 and 50 amp power, water and sewer hook ups as well as paved parking. The facility boasts three separate restroom facilities as well as a day use area to enjoy a picnic. Sites have a picnic table, fire rings and/or grills. One bathroom has a shower facility. All campground roads are paved and one way to help reduce traffic. Sites 4 and 17 are ADA accessibile. Each site connects to a comfort station via a paved walkway and the picnic tables, fire rings, grills, and hook ups are all within a concrete pad. These sites are only reservable one week in advance. Campground hosts are on site to help ensure you have an enjoyable stay. There are many nearby restaurants and shopping areas. Feel like taking a hike? There is even a trail head in the campground. The beautiful creek is a great way to cool down in the warm summer months.

Natural Features

Sit back and relax to the sounds of adjacent Gulpha Gorge Creek under the canopy of towering trees while being serenaded by the local winged inhabitants and you just may forget you are so close to downtown Hot Springs National Park. Enjoy a stunning hike to Bathhouse Row with mountain-top views along the way. Dip your toes in Gulpha Gorge Creek or stretch out on the cool grass to enjoy the breeze while planning a visit to one of the stunning spas on historic Bathhouse Row. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (501) 620-6715.

Nearby Attractions

Gulpha Gorge campground is just a few minutes from downtown Hot Springs National Park and historic Bathhouse Row.

Charges & Cancellations

Cancellations more than 72 hours in advance of arrival date only incur a $10 transaction fee. Within 72 hours, $10 and the first night's fee are charged.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Check in & check out. Check out time is noon. Check in time is 2 p.m.

Rule

Accessibility. There are two accessible campsite that may be booked more than 7 days in avance by calling the park. 7 days out, anyone may book this site but if you do not need the accessible features, you may be asked to switch sites for someone with a disability or limited mobility

Rule

Quiet Hours & Genrators. Quiet hours are from 10:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m. Use of generators is restricted to 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Maximum Occupancy. Maximum occupancy is limited to 8 people and two vehicles. Maximum equipment is one RV and one tent or two tents.

Rule

Maximum Stay Rules. The maximum consecutive stay is 14 consecutive nights. The maximum stay per year is 30 nights. You must have a 7 day break between 14 day stays.

Rule

Pets. Pets must be on leash and waste cleaned up.

Rule

Shower House. There is a shower house located in the campground that is only for registered campers during their dates of their stay and requires a unique code. A code to enter will be provided in your confirmation email. Please keep this code of use of the shower house during your stay.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
44
Hookups
40 electric, 44 water
Longest rig
60 ft
Paved pads
26 of 44
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - year round
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“One bathroom has a shower facility.”
Drinking water
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
30 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Hot springs, Creek
Night sky · 153rd darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 5
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:43 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

5 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:20 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 40 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 1 is free on Tue, Oct 20. read 16:43 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay30 nightsthe facility record
A night$34plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$76DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$34
Standard Site$34
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$42
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$76

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $34 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Cancellations more than 72 hours in advance of arrival date only incur a $10 transaction fee. Within 72 hours, $10 and the first night's fee are charged.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 5

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:20 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 16:43 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

44 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 37 mapped sites
40 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room35 27 ft36 27 ft33 28 ft

All 44 sites

41 of 44 sites located
RV / electric37Type not stated4
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 40 of the 44 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

1type not stated50 amp172 ft
10standard electric33 ft30/50 amp29 ft343 ft$34
11standard electric30 ft30/50 amp80 ft271 ft$34
12standard electric49 ft30/50 amp55 ft337 ft$34
13standard electric47 ft30/50 amp55 ft292 ft$34
14type not stated50 amp319 ft
15type not stated50 amp303 ft
16standard electric37 ft30/50 amp117 ft380 ft$34
17standard electric50/20/30/50 ampyes$34
18standard electric30/50 amp$34
19standard electric32 ft30/50 amp$34
2type not stated50 amp217 ft
20standard electric32 ft30/50 amp32 ft120 ft$34
21standard electric35 ft30/50 amp32 ft109 ft$34
22standard electric55 ft30/50 amp54 ft183 ft$34
23standard electric30/50 amp45 ft98 ft$34
24standard electric45 ft30/50 amp54 ft170 ft$34
25standard electric30/50 amp39 ft104 ft$34
26standard electric38 ft30/50 amp30 ft118 ft$34
27standard electric60 ft30/50 amp50 ft54 ft$34
28standard electric25 ft30/50 amp51 ft68 ft$34
29standard electric30 ft30/50 amp30 ft134 ft$34
3standard electric35 ft50/30/50 amp60 ft449 ft$34
30standard electric32 ft30/50 amp50 ft90 ft$34
31standard electric34 ft30/50 amp36 ft82 ft$34
32standard electric32 ft30/50 amp33 ft127 ft$34
33standard electric33 ft30/50 amp28 ft59 ft$34
34standard electric38 ft30/50 amp33 ft128 ft$34
35standard electric32 ft30/50 amp26 ft64 ft$34
36standard electric38 ft30/50 amp26 ft54 ft$34
37standard electric39 ft30/50 amp40 ft52 ft$34
38standard electric49 ft30/50 amp64 ft116 ft$34
39standard electric30/50 amp40 ft58 ft$34
4standard electric50 ampyes58 ft428 ft$34
40standard electric37 ft30/50 amp42 ft55 ft$34
41standard electric30/50 amp54 ft87 ft$34
42standard electric52 ft30/50 amp35 ft95 ft$34
43standard electric30/50 amp35 ft105 ft$34
44standard electric30/50 amp40 ft77 ft$34
5standard electric40 ft30/50 amp58 ft399 ft$34
6standard electric33 ft30/50 amp29 ft364 ft$34
7standard electric39 ft30/50 amp45 ft322 ft$34
8standard electric30/50 amp35 ft299 ft$34
9standard electric42 ft30/50 amp35 ft271 ft$34

25 of 44 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.52351, -93.03628
The phone501-620-6715
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Gulpha Gorge Campground is off US Hwy 70B on the east side of Hot Springs. For GPS directions, the physical address is 305 Gorge Road, Hot Springs AR 71901. (There is no mail delivery at this address.)

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight45°Mostly Clear
Saturday67°Sunny
Saturday Night40°Clear
Sunday70°Sunny

NWS forecast for Hot Springs, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 52°F, day 75°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 32°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: HOT SPRINGS 1 NNE, AR (USC00033466), 1 mile away and 106 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Bruce Westerman, official portrait

Gulpha Gorge Campground is in Arkansas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Bruce Westerman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 4
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Hot Springs National Park

Asks the National Park Service to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up, and to post what that share is.

Subject Hold back a share of sites at Gulpha Gorge Campground for campers who drive up

To the National Park Service, Hot Springs National Park:

I tried to camp at Gulpha Gorge Campground in Arkansas and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 40 of the 44 campsites the agency files at Gulpha Gorge Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 40 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Gulpha Gorge Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m asking for one specific thing: set aside a published share of the sites at Gulpha Gorge Campground as first-come, first-served, and post what that share is so it can be checked.

Somebody who drives up has no way in, and no way to find out whether they might have had one.

Sent about Gulpha Gorge Campground (Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas) via campanac.com
To Bruce Westerman

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Gulpha Gorge Campground, Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas

Dear Bruce Westerman,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Gulpha Gorge Campground, Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 40 of the 44 campsites the agency files at Gulpha Gorge Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 40 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Gulpha Gorge Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Gulpha Gorge Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Gulpha Gorge Campground (Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas) via campanac.com
To John Boozman

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Gulpha Gorge Campground, Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas

Dear John Boozman,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Gulpha Gorge Campground, Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 40 of the 44 campsites the agency files at Gulpha Gorge Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 40 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Gulpha Gorge Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Gulpha Gorge Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Gulpha Gorge Campground (Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas) via campanac.com
To Tom Cotton

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Gulpha Gorge Campground, Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas

Dear Tom Cotton,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Gulpha Gorge Campground, Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 40 of the 44 campsites the agency files at Gulpha Gorge Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 40 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Gulpha Gorge Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Gulpha Gorge Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Gulpha Gorge Campground (Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.